icon-account icon-glass
Passionate about production people

New Visa rules for third country nationals requiring a visa for the Schengen area

Posted by Andy Lenthall on

Since February 2020, a new European Visa Code applies for those third-country nationals who require a visa to travel to the Schengen area. It concerns currently 105 nations.

The EU worked on improving certain procedures with the aim to make them easier and faster:
- Regular travellers with a positive visa history would no longer have to apply for a new visa every time they travel to the EU and  benefit from multiple-entry visas.
- Easier applications: In most cases, applicants will have the possibility to submit their application at a location close to their place of residence. Where available, they may also fill in and sign the application form electronically.
- Travellers are now able to submit their visa applications up to 6 months ahead of the planned trip, instead of 3 months under the old rules.
The visa fee has gone up from 60 to 80 Euros, but  there may be exemptions such as for minor between 6 and 18 years. The already existing exemption for people under 26 years who take part in a cultural event organised by a non-profit continues to exist.

Pearle* will publish the updated brochure ‘Schengen visa for third-country national artists’ in March. It will be available for download from their website, as well as from EFA.

Older Post Newer Post